tools & reviews

Is Springboard worth it after the ML track’s Arizona pivot?

Start with the track that changed the most. Springboard’s Machine Learning Engineering Career Track no longer exists under that name; its old URL 404s. What replaced it is a Machine Learning Engineering and AI Bootcamp built with University of Arizona Continuing & Professional Education. It runs 9 months at 15 hours a week, fully online, with a 1:1 mentor and a career coach. Delivery runs through university partners (Arizona’s Continuing & Professional Education hosts the application page; the syllabus also points at UMass Global), but it is one program, not two. What the partnership grants a graduate is unclear: unlike the old Data Engineering track’s Washington University certificate, nothing on the live page names a University of Arizona or UMass Global credential, so treat the co-brand as branding until Springboard confirms otherwise. That reframes the whole “is it worth it” question: the track that changed the most is also the one you cannot price.

Some company context first. Springboard was founded in 2013 and is operated by SlideRule Labs, Inc., registered in Utah. The format across every track is online self-paced coursework wrapped in regular 1:1 mentor calls and career coaching, not a live cohort classroom. Springboard also resells courses through university partners and has added non-tech programs like Medical Assistant under the same brand. So “Springboard” in 2026 is a catalog of different products, and a blanket verdict would mislead you. This review covers the three tracks Springboard currently sells; the comparison table below also lists the now-discontinued Data Engineering track for completeness. For how these sit next to other programs, see the full bootcamp directory.

The ML/AI track pivoted to a university partner, and the price is gone

You cannot evaluate the pivoted ML and AI bootcamp the way you would a normal course, because the two numbers that decide whether it pays off are both missing. Read live on October 9, 2026, neither springboard.com nor the University of Arizona partner page publishes tuition for this track, and the partner page lists no refund or guarantee text. The partner page also shows “Apply by: To be announced” with no start date. An old Reddit applicant cited roughly $11K for the previous Career Track in 2021, but that was a different program under a different name, so it is not a current price.

One figure on the partner page is easy to misread. It advertises $147,968 for machine learning engineers, which reads like a placement outcome but is not one: that is an Arizona median advertised salary for roles asking 0 to 3 years of experience (measured June 2023 to May 2024), not what Springboard graduates earned. Springboard’s outcomes page publishes per-course reports for several tracks but none for ML. The curriculum is substantial on paper (Python, Scikit-Learn, TensorFlow, AWS, Docker, Kubernetes, deep learning, and models in production), and it expects you to arrive already fluent in object-oriented programming.

Data Analytics puts its full price on the table

The Data Analytics Career Track, co-branded with Microsoft, is the one track where the money is fully on the table. Read live on October 8, 2026: tuition is $11,300 list, but nobody pays that on any path. It is $8,900 upfront (a 21% discount), or about $1,798 a month for up to six months (roughly $10,788 total), with a Climb Credit loan also offered; treat the list figure as notional. It is a six-month, part-time program, beginner-friendly (the page does not state a weekly-hours figure), teaching Excel, SQL, Tableau, Power BI (optional), and Python, plus units on using AI as a data professional. Springboard says the Data Analytics track has enrolled 3,300-plus students since August 2019 and reports a self-reported average salary increase of $17,418 among students who supplied before-and-after numbers.

The Data Engineering Career Track (the one that carried the Washington University certificate) has dropped out of Springboard’s course navigation; its page was last captured live on September 25, 2025. If you came looking for data engineering specifically, that door has closed, and the analytics track is a different, more entry-level product. This is an analytics on-ramp, not a software-engineering path, so if you want to write production code for a living, look at the coding bootcamps aimed at that instead. For comparison, the Google Data Analytics Professional Certificate on Coursera is $49 a month after a short free trial, which Coursera estimates at under $300 total for most learners over three to six months (check current pricing), roughly the floor this track resells with mentorship and a coach on top.

Cybersecurity aims at the Security+ exam

The Cyber Security Career Track, read live on October 8, 2026, is a six-month part-time program at 10 to 20 hours a week, priced at a list $11,900 or $10,900 if you pay upfront ($1,000 off), with installments and a Climb Credit loan as alternatives. Its curriculum is organized around the CompTIA Security+ exam, running from networking through identity and access management, cryptography, and security operations, with roughly 50 labs, four AI units, and a capstone. Price the cheaper path against it: self-study toward CompTIA Security+ costs the exam voucher (roughly $392 to $425 per third-party guides, since CompTIA gates the real price) plus free material like Professor Messer and TryHackMe, and ISC2’s entry-level Certified in Cybersecurity exam is $199. That is the floor the $10,900-plus track is reselling with a schedule and a coach, so weigh it against other cybersecurity bootcamps and self-study before enrolling. A recent cohort was listed to start in mid-October 2026 with its application window already closed, so check the current page for the next start date. The cyber-specific outcome Springboard advertises is a self-reported +$11K average salary increase among students who provided both salaries.

What the 85.6% placement figure actually counts

Springboard advertises 85.6% placement across its tracks, and the exact wording matters more than the number. It counts “of job qualified individuals who reported receiving an offer, received it within 12 months of graduation,” combined across all Career Tracks, as of December 2023. Parse that: it is a share of job-qualified people who self-reported an offer, not of everyone who enrolled or graduated. The figures are self-reported and unaudited, and the full outcomes report is emailed only on request, not posted. Treat 85.6% as a marketing-grade number from a narrow base, not an independent placement rate, and note it dates to December 2023.

You may see a much lower figure quoted elsewhere: a commenter has cited California BPPE reports showing 10 to 15% on-time completion for Springboard. We have not independently verified that claim, and it comes from a Reddit thread rather than a document in hand, so do not treat it as fact either. The generous figure is self-reported and the damning one unverified, which is exactly why the gated full report is worth reading before enrolling.

The job guarantee has conditions worth reading before you pay

Springboard’s refund guarantee is real but conditional, and the conditions do most of the work. Eligibility generally requires a bachelor’s degree (the degree waiver applies only to the Software Engineering, Cybersecurity, and Tech Sales tracks for people with relevant experience), on-time completion of all coursework and projects, passing the career modules, and then meeting ongoing job-search quotas: weekly job applications, networking, and weekly activity summaries. A July 2025 r/codingbootcamp graduate described their track’s specific quotas as four applications a week, seven outreach contacts a week, and two informational interviews a month, with the refund voided if you accept any 30-plus-hour-a-week job outside the field. Treat those exact numbers as one graduate’s account, not published policy.

Two more details. The standard tuition-refund window, separate from the job guarantee, is seven days: you can get a full refund within the first week of enrolling, none after. And the guarantee terms PDF linked for the cyber track is dated January 2021, old enough that you should ask for the current version in writing before you enroll. A guarantee you cannot satisfy is not a guarantee.

What the reviews are worth

Springboard holds a 4.6 on Course Report across 1,767 reviews, which looks strong until you weigh it. Springboard runs an affiliate program, and a commenter in a December 2025 thread claims Springboard pays Course Report for referrals, so ratings on referral sites deserve a discount. Reddit sentiment over the last 18 months leans negative on two complaints: outdated materials (a December 2025 “Stay away from Springboard” thread cites web-development content as old as 2014 to 2015) and thin support (unanswered TA and Slack requests, a dismissive mentor), plus a July 2025 account of a guarantee refund denied after the full job search. The complaints skew toward the software side, but the pattern (aging content, mentor-dependent support, a guarantee that is hard to collect on) is worth taking seriously.

Springboard track (as of October 2026) Status Length Published tuition Aim / credential
Data Analytics Career Track (with Microsoft) Enrolling 6 months part-time (weekly hours not stated) $8,900 upfront to about $10,788 monthly ($11,300 list is notional) Entry-level data analytics (Excel, SQL, Tableau, Power BI, Python)
Cyber Security Career Track Enrolling 6 months, 10 to 20 hrs/week $11,900 list; $10,900 upfront CompTIA Security+ exam prep
Machine Learning Engineering and AI Bootcamp Pivoted (Arizona CPE) 9 months, 15 hrs/week Not published ML engineering; co-branded university bootcamp
Data Engineering Career Track Discontinued (gone from nav since 2025) Was 6 months n/a No longer offered

So, who should sign up. If you want an entry-level analytics on-ramp with a known price and a fixed six-month commitment, the Data Analytics track is the defensible choice, as long as you are not expecting it to make you a software engineer. But read the guarantee gate first, because it bites the readers most likely to want this track: the degree waiver applies only to the Software Engineering, Cybersecurity, and Tech Sales tracks, not Data Analytics. So a career-changer without a bachelor’s can take the DA course but would not qualify for the refund guarantee at all, and what counts as the “relevant experience” that unlocks the waiver elsewhere is not defined on the public page, so confirm your eligibility in writing before you pay. Weigh it against other AI and data bootcamps before you commit. If your goal is the CompTIA Security+ certification and you like the mentor-plus-coach format, the cyber track is reasonable, but ask for the current guarantee terms in writing first, because the version on file is from 2021. And for the ML and AI bootcamp: wait. A program worth nine months of your life should be willing to tell you what it costs and when it starts before you apply, and right now it does neither.

newsletter

What's actually being asked right now

Interview patterns & comp trends, straight to your inbox.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.

newsletter

What's actually being asked right now

Interview patterns & comp trends, straight to your inbox.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.

1972 Soviet postage stamp commemorating the Mars 2 probe

worth a read

Mars For The Rest of Us — a weekly-or-more deep dive on the technical side of Mars exploration: rocket propulsion, microbiology, mission architecture, and everything in between. Written by Maciej Ceglowski.

Read it on Substack →
Scroll to Top